Made the most of it – Hartaal day Nov.29, 2011 (for Mullaperiyar Dam)

Made the most of it – Hartaal day Nov.29, 2011 (for Mullaperiyar Dam)

Nov.28, 2011/ 11:20 pm.

Nov.29, 2011 has already been declared as a hartaal for showing solidarity with the people of Kerala on the Mullaperiyar dam issue. I had already taken permission from my Delivery Manager to work from home and only come to office for the scrum meet with the client.

I had the whole day of Nov.29, 2011 with me to continue with my work from home and also be at home with my family. I made a decision to get into focus and get into the groove rightaway. I began to build my mood for a busy night by taking up these sketches. I began at 11:20 pm. These are the sketches.

 

A Hindu sea temple at Bali

With Hindu influence in most of the asian countries, Bali in Indonesia was no exception. There are 6 to 8 Hindu sea temples along the coast of Indonesia with the sea goddess as the presiding deity. These temples have been built to create a harmony with the sea by calming down the wrath of the sea.

The sketch here is one of those sea temples at Bali. It took me close to an hour and 10 minutes to get this right.

 

 

Hindu sea-temple in Bali, Indonesia
Hindu sea-temple in Bali, Indonesia

 

 

Misty Hues

I took up this sketch on the same night immediately after my sea-temple at Bali. This was just an imagination with the background in dark and the hues of the tree created in white. Took me 13 minutes to complete.

 

 

My Imagination - Misty hues
My Imagination – Misty hues

Just after these sketches, I began my work/ task from home and compensated until 5:30 am and for the subsequent evening back to office. So there it was a relaxing night on this hartal day. I made the most of it.

4 thoughts on “Made the most of it – Hartaal day Nov.29, 2011 (for Mullaperiyar Dam)

Leave a Reply

